Summer Time

It’s been nearly two weeks since I returned from visiting family in Manitoba, and it’s two months until my final year of undergrad studies begins. Which update do you want first? The bad news or the good news? I’ll give you the not-so-good update first.

I went to Winnipeg knowing the conflict which was awaiting, not for me but for one of my sisters. Blessed be her heart, she and her family came also knowing this. The positive highlights of the trip were seeing my entire extended family and helping my folks on their new hobby farm. The downside came after dinner while we adults were still seated at the table. I won’t go into details about what actually happened, but I will tell you this, it was the worse display of disrespect my sisters had ever seen. Everyone was hoping the day could go smoothly along without the past being brought up. It didn’t last, and that’s all I’ll say about that.

When I was at the Winnipeg airport waiting for my flight I posted this link on Facebook in response to the family gathering. I’d like to hear your take on the article. How far is too far? Is there a difference between honouring parents and obeying them? If so, what is it? If not, what the reasoning? When can a child (as an adult) be able to make his/her own choices?

Again, I want to hear from you.

Next time: an update on my college courses, and future plans as they sit right now.

 

Leave a Reply

