Why In Such a Hurry?

This is a question I’m always asking the road when vehicle after vehicle passes me with such speed it surprises me they don’t flip over into the left side ditch. This post goes out to Christians who (by merit) should be holding to a similar worldview as I do.

Now I’m not saying I’m perfect nor better than anyone else. At times I am just as guilty as the next person. This is just as much a reminder to me as it is rhetoric to self-proclaimed Christians.

“So,” I ask you, “what’s your problem?” Going over the speed limit out of habit. Really? That’s the issue? That can’t be it. Well, there’s more to it than that. “The real problem is obeying the law of the land.”

What I’m referring to when I say “the law of the land” is the laws which by nature are neutral. That is the laws which don’t infringe on anyone’s religious or moral (human) rights.

Let’s take a look at what God’s Holy Word tells us on the subject matter:

“Everyone must submit to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except from God, and those that exist are instituted by God. So then, the one who resists the authority is opposing God’s command, and those who oppose it will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Do you want to be unafraid of the authority? Do what is good, and you will have its approval. For government is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, because it does not carry the sword for no reason. For government is God’s servant, an avenger that brings wrath on the one who does wrong. Therefore, you must submit, not only because of wrath, but also because of your conscience. And for this reason you pay taxes, since the authorities are God’s public servants, continually attending to these tasks. Pay your obligations to everyone: taxes to those you owe taxes, tolls to those you owe tolls, respect to those you owe respect, and honor to those you owe honor” (Romans 13:1-7, HCSB).

The question that often arises in regards to this passage is: what if the law of the land contradicts God’s commands? “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and most important command” (Matthew 22:37-38, HCSB).

With that said the answer is simple: obedience to God must take precedence, then obeying the laws set forth by the government.

Riddle me this: why do you feel the abundant urge to go over the assigned speed limits on a regular biases? Can you not slow down in life and on the road? Give yourself more time for the journey and less time for road rage.

Yes, you heard me right. I said road rage. One thing I’ve noticed is those who rely on high speeds and reckless behaviour while behind the wheel tend to exhibit road rage more frequently then the cautious drivers. And this road rage tents to be directed towards the cautious drivers.

This also goes for red lights and stop signs (even if you are turning right). Stop means stop, at least that’s what I was taught in grade school.

Please, obey the law of the land as long as it doesn’t contradict God’s commands. By doing so you are obeying God. Disobeying God has no other name then Sin.

[This is my first short essay I wrote entirely on my smart phone before I edited and posted it.]

Leave a Reply

