Concerning Prayer

Seeing that it’s time for a new entries from “In God’s Holy Word” I thought I’d post one about prayer. At first I didn’t really have much planned nor did I know what I would write, the only thing that was on my heart during this past week was prayer.

Originally I had planned to make this post a “page” under which I would post blog entries concerning prayer (hence the title). I will be posting the prayer challenges that one’ll find in my church’s newsletter within the week after we publish.

Church first, blog last.

As you know, I am currently leading a prayer ministry and coordinating another one. The latter ministry is run through my church here in Calgary; which I am in charge of writing a portion of the bi-weekly newsletter.

My part is to challenge the congregation in their regular prayer life: is it obligatory words said under the breath? Or is it a habit which is fulfilled only when time permits? Or, as it was with Christ Jesus, a way of life, an interrogate part of your Christian life-style?

I pray, pun intended, that prayer, deep communion with God the Father, in the name of Jesus Christ and through the power of the Holy Spirit, is part of your Christian lifestyle and not just a bygone duty to be checked off on your to-do-list.

“Love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength” (Deuteronomy 6:5, HCSB). In the verses following, Moses gives the Israelites a list of things to do with this “Love your God” bit: talk and think about God when you sit, when you walk, when you go to bed, and when you rise up.

This sounds awfully like communication with and about God is supposed to be our lifestyle. Even Jesus said this was the greatest of all the commands (Matthew 22:37, Mark 12:30, Luke 10:27).

If we love someone, we want to talk with them, be close to them, get to know them. Then, why is it so difficult for us as Christians to be in communion with our Heavenly Father?

Is prayer your lifestyle?

Leave a Reply

