Moving Along

With both prayer ministries slowly moving and school assignments’ due dates looming overhead I’ve begun to look at my future. Where is my education leading? What can I do (or want to do or am able to do) with it?

Everything that is happening this term, everything I’m part of, is by God’s grace going hand-in-hand. In one word: Leadership. The ministries are my practicums (so to speak), my sole course is “Principles of Leadership” where I’m learning what it means to be a spiritual leader, and I’m also involved in “Elevate”.

Elevate is a mentorship opportunity in leadership training through my church, at the seminary. This can be because the prof who is co-leading this endeavour is in leadership at the church and my pastor lives on campus.

What is leadership? Where are you a leader? Family, church, friends, community, work? What does it mean for you to be a spiritual leader within these areas of your life?

The question for me is: how can I use this study to become a better leader? This goes back to the initial question: “Where is my education leading?”

I have something in mind, something that will have to wait to see if that’s where my life is heading. Anyways, the only logical outcome for my education I can perceive is teaching. This is one thing I’ve always wanted to do, but I needed the degree in order to do so. To teach what I’ve learned, what I am learning and what I will learn to the next generation has always been on my heart. To train up the next generation to be firmly rooted in our Christian believes is important to me.

My desire is for churches to teach for the Holy Word. That is to teach what it says, what in means and above all to challenge their flocks to not only read it but to study it. (On a later blog I will post about what a Bible study should really be about.)

I don’t want this study to become something it isn’t…I want it to become a tool to help others (laypeople and students) to dive deeper “In God’s Holy Word” for themselves and for their families and churches. How can we call ourselves spiritual leaders if we do not know God’s Word?

We all need to move along, and move into the Bible. It’s time for the coming revival to become a reality and not only words.

My challenge, with this study, is for you as Christians and as congregations of Believers to join with me in standing up for Bible literacy, and against Bible ignorance. To know the Bible, to know God, is to fend off the attacks of our many spiritual enemies. In truth we have one enemy who takes on many forms and who comes at us from every direction.

The Apostle Paul says it perfectly, “For our battle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens” (Ephesians 6:12, HCSB). The next several verses describe the Armour of God, the Bible is one of them. Paul writes “Take the…sword of the Spirit, which is God’s word” (v. 17).

“God’s word” is the only offensive item in the list, all others are defensive. Are you ready to fight the good fight (1 Timothy 6:12) or run from evil? It’s not a matter of one or the other, but be ready to do both. For there will be times to fight and there will be times to flee.

Remember, you are never, NEVER, alone in your walk of faith. God is always with you, and in your darkest times He even carries you. And don’t forget those God has placed in your life to walk along side you.

Leave a Reply

